The Dinner Party, a Poem

I do not have any photograph to remember the scene by

So words will have to suffice

To render what love it was to be with you, All

Around a table served with color, lights and spices

Where the candles of christmas glinted back to us

through life-sized figures, drawings framed in glass

And water filled our wineglasses but chai spiced our lips

And dreams after long drought lifted on wings of words

Hope sprung like fish flying over the mismatched dishes with gilded rims

And we believed in this, again: humanity, camaraderie, hospitality

Making room, like a womb, it’s such a wanted tune

A melody to make glad the soul, lost amid modernity

My Peace I give to you, but not as the world gives

Says Jesus at a table with His friends

Such peace as we might find on this winter night, despite

Tragedy that wracks our land like a calloused demonic hand

I know.

There is such a thing as light, and dark

And the two contrast each other and frame the door

The door filled with light

Come inside I say to my soul

Outside in the cold, my soul is weary of the youth-glorying facade,

the numbness of innumerable vanities,

the shallow trade-off for an illusion of power

For true art must always have true humanity

Let fall the mask, your voice, your face

Is beautiful in this light

Tonight, says the door leading to you all

We will see each other as a painter might

And this our palette, filled with myriad color but all is one

One color: the color of love

 

6 thoughts on “The Dinner Party, a Poem

  1. bobbi says:

    a night of magic. really good food, lovely spiced wine, friendly inspiring conversation, all enclosed in soft light sparkling on the glass and china and the smiling faces I will remember with love.

  2. Rebekah says:

    This was lovely, Rebecca!

    • rebeccaannafaubion says:

      Thank You Rebecca! It was the year-end finale of my Artist’s Way group, and was more special than I could have hoped. One of the ladies who is Indian, catered the entire meal with her handcrafted curried lentils and various sauces and homemade chai and perfect basmati. You would have fit in perfectly with this group!

      • Rebekah says:

        Sounds wonderful! I love the words you chose here. I could almost taste the food without even knowing what it was. Also, I discovered “The Artists Way” is one of my mom’s favorite books. She and I had not discussed that ever. It’s so great how books and art makes it possible to continually learn new things about the people in your life.

      • rebeccaannafaubion says:

        That is sooo cool Rebekah! I would love to talk with you and your mom about Artists Way at some point. Even though I don’t really know your mom I know she’s awesome ’cause she’s your Mamma!

Leave a Reply

